Sister Diane: honored for literacy support

05/21/2018 4:07 pm

Sisters Mary Ann Gschwind, Grace Ann Schiffer, Marcella Anibas, Diane Boehm, Esther Leis, Laverne Wilichowski, and Mary Morrissey

Left to right: Sisters Mary Ann Gschwind, Grace Ann Schiffer, Marcella Anibas, Diane Boehm, Esther Leis, Laverne Wilichowski, and Mary Morrissey

Literacy Chippewa Valley (LCV) announces that this year's recipient of the Eric J. Wahl "Making a Difference" Award is Sister Diane Boehm. Sister Diane is an LCV tutor and received the award on May 15 at LCV’s Celebration of the Stars.
“Our recipient has spent her lifetime in education as a school teacher, sometimes a coach and also a principal,” said Cheryl Sutter, Eau Claire Coordinator within the One-to-One Program, “That was when she wasn’t “retired”. For the last 17 years, she has been dedicated to helping our literacy students.”

Left to Right: Literacy Chippewa Valley President Larry Jolivette, Sister Diane Boehm, One-To-One Coordinator Cheryl Sutter.

In 2001, Sister Diane joined the literacy staff for eight years, where she co-trained volunteer tutors, taught adults in the Family Literacy Program and coordinated the Parents Sharing Books Programs offered in the jails that LCV serves in Chippewa, Dunn and Eau Claire counties.
In 2009, she retired a second time but immediately started serving as a tutor, which she continues to do. She has tutored as many as seven students in a year and as recently as last week volunteered as a substitute teacher in the Family Literacy class. She has also initiated grant funding for literacy improvements through Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration.
The Eric J. Wahl “Making a Difference” Award was created in memory of the late Eric J. Wahl who understood the importance of literacy in the lives of adults and their families.  The award recognizes an individual in our community who is passionate about literacy and has demonstrated a significant commitment to the mission of Literacy Chippewa Valley.
The annual Celebration of the Stars was held on May 15th at Christ Church Cathedral, Eau Claire. In addition to presenting the Eric J. Wahl Award, the annual event recognizes the accomplishments of students and tutors. The students take part in the Family Literacy programs and one-to-one pair tutoring.

Sister Diane Boehm and other recipients of literacy award

Sister Diane Boehm far right

The following tutors received awards for their milestones of service to Literacy Chippewa Valley:
Five years:

Norma Canfield
David Dial
Penny Graham
Shirley Lynn
Dorothy Miller
Dolly Papke
Mary Ryberg
10 Years:

Sister Diane Boehm
Carole Boos
Sue Larson
Florence Shepherd
Lloyd Shepherd
Patrice Taft

15 Years:

Sue Gallagher
Kathryn Nulk
Dave Rasmussen
Bob Swanson
20 Years:

Jan Goethel
Sue Gordon
Dick Morrison


Four “honorable mention” awards were given to tutors Donna Raleigh, Patrice Taft, Ruth Peterson and Jim McConnell for their extra service.

Executive Director Elizabeth Hart acknowledged outgoing board members Barbara Anderson, Carlton Brumbelow, Drew Duggan, Dr. Mary Ann Hardebeck, Allyson Loomis, Lisa Patrow and outgoing president Larry Jolivette. Renewing board members include Michael Ahrens (incoming president), Jennifer Anderegg, Nickolas Butler, Terri Hoepner, Lori Krings, Leah Langby, Brian Maki and Stacy Secker.
The 2018 Celebrate Writing book was also distributed at Celebration of the Stars. This year’s theme was “Traditions: Write from the Heart” and students wrote articles about family and cultural traditions as well as other heartfelt messages. Copies of the book are available at the Literacy Chippewa Valley offices.

About Literacy Chippewa Valley
Literacy Chippewa Valley is a community-based literacy organization that offers adults the opportunity to gain the skills they need to make a better life for themselves and their families. To find out more, visit their web site.

Tour Chapels
Explore our Ministries